CORA Cup Race #4 – CORA Nationals September 10-11, 2022

Join Comox Valley Canoe Racing Club for two days of racing for all paddle disciplines and abilities in the Comox Valley. Saturday events include OC6 races. Sunday will include the traditional small boat race – OC1-2, surfski and SUP – right off the Pier at the Comox Marina Park. 

More information and registration links:

Saturday September 10, 2022
OC6 Long and Short Course Events. 
Long course will be 15km, Race fee $210
Short course will be 6-8 km, Race fee $150

9:00am  Short course Race Start
11:00am  Women’s Race Start
1:00pm  Men’s Race Start
3:00pm  Mixed Race Start

Note: The separate race for the Mixed allows more OC6 sharing!

Sunday September 11, 2022
Small Boats: SUP, Singles and Doubles (OC & Surfski):
Race Course TBD
Race Fees $25 per person, $50 for a double

10:30 AM – Small Boat Race Start

Entry Deadline: Online registration will close on Thursday, Sept 8, 2022 at 5:00 pm for OC6 and Friday, Sept 9, 2022 at 5:00 pm for Small Boats

Canadian Outrigger Hall Of Fame 2022 Inductees

CORA recognized that there were many individuals who had made “Significant and Exemplary Contributions” to Canadian outrigger canoeing, but their stories had never been captured, and they had never been formally recognized. CORA spent January-July 2022 tracking down this history, and fact-checking as best as possible the exploits of those individuals who founded CORA, who founded / nurtured CORA clubs, who inaugurated / perpetuated races, who excelled at IVF / Molokai / Catalina / Queen Liliuokalani events, and who designed / built / imported / distributed canoes to grow the sport.

As of the August 2022 CORA Board Meeting there were 6 individuals inducted into the Canadian Outrigger Hall Of Fame for 2022.

Comox Valley Canoe Racing Club (CVCRC) has graciously offered to have an awards ceremony at the Comox CORA Cup Championship Iron event on the September 10/11 weekend to recognize these individuals.

CORA wishes to congratulate the 6 Canadian Outrigger Hall Of Fame 2022 Inductees:

  • Andrea Dillon
  • Rosemary Henry
  • Kamini Jain
  • Wendy Rae-Perkins
  • Don Mulhall
  • Grace Morissette

You can visit the CORA website and view the “virtual Hall Of Fame” that has the names / headshots of the 6 individuals inducted this year and links to a 3-page PDF that has their contributions in 2-pages and a 1-page set of references on every online article that we could find where they were mentioned.