CORA Travel Grant Updates

CORA recently adopted new criteria for the CORA Travel Grant that take effect for CORA Sanctioned Events held after July 1st, 2022:

  • Mileage reimbursement has been increased from a rate of $0.50 to a rate of $0.60 per kilometre traveled.
  • Reimbursement for travel has been increased from a maximum of $650 to a maximum of $700 per application (combined limit for mileage reimbursement and ferry expenses)
  • Truck-topped OC6s are now eligible for the Travel Grant. This applies to OC6s that are carried on overhead racks such that the height, length and width of the vehicle and load allowable on a highway is in compliance with relevant Provincial commercial transportation legislation, including applicable permits, or otherwise in compiance with applicable laws, such as applicable motor vehicle legislation. Copies of the applicable permit or authorizing legislation must accompany applications for truck-topped travel.

See BC Commercial Transport Act Regulations and
BC Motor Vehicle Act Regulations

The Travel Grant Application on the CORA website will be current as of mid-July 2022.

CORA CUP Race #3 – Lotus Iron, Burnaby, BC – Rescheduled to July 23, 2022

Please note that date for the 2022 Lotus Iron Race has been changed to Saturday, July 23, 2022. Over the past two years, the Barnet Marine Park has experienced exponential growth in the number of park users and there was concern that the race would overwhelm the demand for parking and services on the July long weekend.

In 1989, the Lotus Sports Club organized the first outrigger race in Canada, the Lotus Iron Race. The 2022 Lotus Iron Race on July 23, will not only be the 33rd annual Lotus Iron Race but also the 33rd anniversary of outrigger racing and 31st anniversary of junior outrigger racing in Canada! Be part of Canadian outrigger history!

Race Courses:

     Long Course (approximately 18km)

     Short Course including Novice (approximately 11km)

     Junior/Keiki Division (length of race course to be based on the experience of teams)


     9:30 am – Short Course crews plus Novice and Junior/Keiki crews

     11:30 am – Women’s and Mixed Master 40+, 50+, 60+, and 70+ crews

     2:00 pm – Men’s and Mixed Open crews

     Awards and draw prizes will be given out after each heat.


     $ 210 per crew if registered and paid before July 16
     $ 240 per crew if registered and paid after July 16
     $ 90 per crew for Junior or Keiki crews.

Race fees are paid on-line through the link available at the bottom on this page.

All paddlers must pay CORA fees – please pay your annual or single event CORA fees ON-LINE at least 2 days before the race date.

Registration and further information available HERE.